BinbinHello! My name is Binbin. I came from China. My EVS project started from 4th October, the day I arrived in Wroclaw.

It’s my first time to be abroad. I worried a lot about my English and how to adapt to new customs. But after I came, everything is better than I imagined. I have a responsible hosting organization, nice flat mates and warm-hearted mentor. As we had Polish lessons, I began to learn basic Polish sentences and remember the names of streets. Now I’m not worried about getting lost in Wroclaw any more.

Wroclaw is a pretty big city. There’re a lot of historical buildings and beautiful natural sights. We don’t have rivers and so many trees in my hometown. Everyday on my way to work, I feel like walking in a big park. In these 3 weeks, I began to find out the differences between Poland and China, even between different countries of Europe. I found I was totally wrong to think that European people are mostly the same. There’re volunteers from 7 countries in our group. And I met more people from different countries in the on-arrival training. It’s amazing that we cooked for each other, introduce the customs of our own countries and enjoy different kinds of music.

From Monday to Friday, we prepared for cultural presentations and workshops about human rights. Beside these work, we have other duties of developing the whole EVS project. I believe that every work is a path of learning. It’s good for me to have various tasks.

EVS is a challenge for me. Living abroad and adapting different kinds of cultures is not easy. I’m trying and getting better. But also, EVS is a chance. I want to see the world and meet people. Now I’m learning new knowledge and customs everyday.

About Multicultural Language Cafe

Multilingual Language Cafe - EVS projects in Semper Avanti. 6 volunteers from different European countries come to Wrocław for 9 months to work with kids, teenagers and seniors in Lower Silesia district. Volunteer's main tasks are Human Rights and Global Education workshops, activities for people in different age groups, Language cafe in Mediateka - language conversations, activities in Sektor 3, and other partner institutions.

Leave a Reply

