Madlena

Hello, my name is Madlena Mitschke and I am from Germany. I am 19 years old and I have passed my A-level-exams this year.

Some years ago I already had the idea to go to another country for one year. It as my aim to learn something about other cultures in Europe, to learn a new language and also to improve my English. EVS was a great opportunity to realize my ideas and wishes.

When I started to search for EVS project I looked for interesting jobs all around Europe. My sending organisation told me, that Semper Avanti from Poland/ Wroclaw searches for a new volunteer. I liked the project and the idea to come to Poland and learn more about my Slavic neighbours. So I employed.

Here I work in a Scouting organization ZHP which organizes many activities for the scouts. Unfortunately I arrived when the main activities for the scouts ended. So they don´t have many tasks for me at the moment. So I get the opportunity to take part in a project about human rights. I enjoy it a lot to go to the seminar every week.

I like Poland and Wroclaw very much. I like the Polish language and the architecture, especially the frontages by the old buildings are very nice. I already visited Poland some times before, but it was the first time that I was in Wroclaw. I want to use my time for traveling to other cities and regions of Poland to see so much as possible from this country.

About Multicultural Language Cafe

Multilingual Language Cafe - EVS projects in Semper Avanti. 6 volunteers from different European countries come to Wrocław for 9 months to work with kids, teenagers and seniors in Lower Silesia district. Volunteer's main tasks are Human Rights and Global Education workshops, activities for people in different age groups, Language cafe in Mediateka - language conversations, activities in Sektor 3, and other partner institutions.

Leave a Reply

