I decided to work for one year as a volunteer to see something new and to get out of my school- and learning rhythm between school and studies. I also see this year as a year of developing new ideas for my future e.g. what to study etc. Furthermore I want to meet new people with different cultural backgrounds and it is also very important for me to be fluent in polish after this year. And last but not least I think that it is a good idea to engage in a social Project, since there is not more the duty of going to army or civil work after High School. I came at the beginning of July to Wroclaw to start my work at Mediateka and I will stay here for twelve months.

I have chose Mediateka because I really much like to work with books and I am very interested in literature and I chose Wroclaw because it is a big City and as I lived in Germany in a village I wanted to live for one year in a big City. As it is summer time and the students are mostly on vacations, we do not have so many visitors in Mediteka, and our job right now is just limited by helping to the staff (we put the books on the shelves, clean the discs and change signatures). However soon we will also teach foreign languages in “language café” and work directly with the visitors.  

As I am coming from Germany and Germany and Poland are neighboring countries, I didn’t notice so many differences in cultural aspects between my home country and Poland. In my opinion Poles aren’t as stressed as Germans and they are enjoying life more than Germans, because they are not thinking so much about future, job and stuff like this. For me Germans, me included, always need to plan everything, what they want to do in detail and Poles are more spontaneous and just do something, without thinking so much about risks or whatever. 

I really like Wroclaw and I am enjoying every day in this beautiful City! I really like, that there is so much water, caused by the river Odra, in and around Wroclaw, even that it is so Close to the mountains…the perfect mixture. And I also like the old City of Wroclaw and the architecture of it’s buildings very much. Another nice aspect is the multicultural Background of Wroclaw and the diversity of it’s diversity of inhabitant. Wroclaw is also a very young City, which is caused by the mass of students in Wroclaw. 

I hope that my year as a volunteer will be great. I hope that I can improve my soft skills and learn more Polish language, also gain new experiences for the future. 🙂

Image

About Multicultural Language Cafe

Multilingual Language Cafe - EVS projects in Semper Avanti. 6 volunteers from different European countries come to Wrocław for 9 months to work with kids, teenagers and seniors in Lower Silesia district. Volunteer's main tasks are Human Rights and Global Education workshops, activities for people in different age groups, Language cafe in Mediateka - language conversations, activities in Sektor 3, and other partner institutions.

Leave a Reply

