My name is Alina. I’m 21 years old and I’m from Minsk, Belarus.Image

First of all, I would like to say that Wroclaw is actually one of the most beautiful cities in Poland and you won’t be bored here in your free time.

Image

About people)

I have been welcomed very well. When I arrived, I met my mentor in the airport and I was accompanied by her to my flat. First I met only my roommate. In general, I am living together with three other people: with Kristiina from Estonia and 2 guys from Spain (Alvaro and Daniel). When I arrived, guys were in Amsterdam. Despite the fact that Kristiina needs some time to convergence (as it turned out later), I didn’t actually feel it. She was very welcoming and friendly. On the first day, we went together to the pizzeria and had a lot of fun.

Image

When guys came back from their trip, we went together to Kasia’s (new employee of Semper Avanty; she is very nice and cool as well) flat. And it was cool too)

In addition to Kasia, in our organization, there are working some other very pleasant people. Under their guidance, you do not feel yourself like a dependent. Everyone is equal. In this way, you always have the desire to do more than is required from you (at least for me )) ).

Luckily during the first two weeks you aren’t heavily loaded. You mostly learn how to adapt in a new environment. In my case, it lasted a bit longer)), as there were some changes in the organization – for example, the coordinator was replaced. I certainly didn’t have time to get to know the previous one, but I can safely assure that Agata (our new coordinator) is awesome. Despite everything, she’s still smiling. She is always open-minded and friendly and also very proactive and understanding.

Image

Here can be about the project))).

The primary duties of the project include cultural evenings, workshops of human rights, classes with children (with just some games or English conversation) and teaching of ur native language.

ImageImageImage

But in addition to this, you can submit your own ideas and they will be promptly considered. Many of the ideas have been approved. Therefore, an EVS project – this is the place where you can unfold, try some experimenting, gain experiences and test yourself)).

Also, the project includes Polish language courses to make it easier to adapt and to steep the culture of this country. In my case, I didn`t have a huge culture shock, as I began to study the language before the project and mentality of Poland is similar to Belarus.

In my opinion, the coolest in the project are the trainings. My project is one year long, so I have 2 of them. I already had my on-arrival training. It was held in the capital of Poland – in Warsaw. 2 stunning trainers organized this training for us. There were 25 people from different cities in Poland and from various projects, which were interesting to learn about as well. We had some intriguing activities, for example, we talked about our expectations before the project, about stereotypes, because all of us came from different countries, also played some games, etc.

Image

During our training we had 2 amazing surprises. The first surprise was an excursion around Warsaw with a lecture about communism and elegant dinner in the restaurant.

ImageImage

The second was a  Polish evening with some music and dancing.

ImageImage

We even joined with the artists for some traditional dances.

Image

For 2 days we were working on the project, which we were interested in (topics were distributed to groups). Some people were gathering materials about the legends in Warsaw, some about the sights. In my case it was the culture of graffiti and wall art. I was in the group with 3 guys (French, Austrian and Turkish).

ImageImageImage

It was an unforgettable time. We made a lot of photos, shot some video interviews, walked through the city and just laughed a lot.

Sooo.., everything can’t be described with words and can’t be conveyed, especially when it comes to the feelings. You need to experience it yourself.

P.S. If you decide to take part of an EVS project, don’t go for 2-3 months (in this time, you will only understand, where you are), go for a year!

About Multicultural Language Cafe

Multilingual Language Cafe - EVS projects in Semper Avanti. 6 volunteers from different European countries come to Wrocław for 9 months to work with kids, teenagers and seniors in Lower Silesia district. Volunteer's main tasks are Human Rights and Global Education workshops, activities for people in different age groups, Language cafe in Mediateka - language conversations, activities in Sektor 3, and other partner institutions.

Leave a Reply

