Hi everyone! I am the Estonian girlKristiina. I am 22 years old and I`ve been in Wroclaw for 2 weeks now. I recently finished university and decided to take a break from the studies and do something totally different – become a volunteer.

So, here I am in this project called MLC – „Multicultural Language Cafe“ which is really exciting and I also work together with 3 volunteers from Spain, Germany and Italy. I gotta say – they are really nice people. So far I have done presentations about my country, in both primary school and high school. Also I have tasks, such as  teaching English to older people in Sektor 3 and starting in october I have to do the same in Mediateka. On Fridays I go to this sweet kindergarten, where I have to talk about healthy lifestyle and also make activities with children. For example I tought them how to dance Estonian dance called Kaerajaan. So as you can imagine, it was a lot of fun. Since I like children a lot, I am very happy, that I can also spend time with them on playgrounds and do activities, such as play volleyball, draw and so on.

And what about my thoughts on Wroclaw after being here 2 weeks? I have to say, I really like this city, it reminds me of one city in Estonia, called Tartu, because of the buildings and atmosphere, but of course Wroclaw is much bigger. Even our capital Tallinn is smaller than Wroclaw. Since in Estonia, we have only 1.34 million people and here you have more than 600 000 people, you could say that Wroclaw is basically half of the Estonia. So far I have visited the main centre many times and also Japanese garden and a fountain show. I was truly amazed how beautiful this city can be. Seems like almost everything looks really pretty in here.

 

So, overall, I am very happy that I decided to come here, after meeting lots of nice and friendly people and seeing the „magic of this place“ I can only hope that this 1 year here is going to be amazing!

 

Kristiina.

 

 

About Multicultural Language Cafe

Multilingual Language Cafe - EVS projects in Semper Avanti. 6 volunteers from different European countries come to Wrocław for 9 months to work with kids, teenagers and seniors in Lower Silesia district. Volunteer's main tasks are Human Rights and Global Education workshops, activities for people in different age groups, Language cafe in Mediateka - language conversations, activities in Sektor 3, and other partner institutions.

Leave a Reply

